Tiger Woods, Hideki Matsuyama set for Round 2

Tiger Woods, Hideki Matsuyama set for Round 2

Tiger Woods, Hideki Matsuyama set for Round 2

Hoping to continue his triumph end to the 2018 season, Woods is now in Albany for the Hero World Challenge.

Woods was never under par at any point and opened with a 73, eight shots behind, tied for 16th in an 18-man field.

However, Wood's fortunes took a turn for worse on the 18th when he hit his drive off the tee into a bush on the right of the fairway.

Woods, opting to try to hit it out of the bush rather than take an unplayable lie, which would have cost him a penalty stroke, took a short whack at it and appeared to punch it out onto the grass.

Woods, 42, was making highly anticipated comebacks from injury and surgery in each of the past two years in the Bahamas but has settled into a more traditional role this time.

"Basically it says if the player did not know that he did that and the only way you can tell that is by using this type of slow-motion technology, he's exempt from the rules", said Russell, who viewed the replay at the nearby TV compound.

After finishing his round with a double-bogey at 18, Woods waited 25 minutes before signing his scorecard and emerging from the tent, having met with rules officials to determine if there was a penalty.

"I didn't feel quite comfortable with my game", Woods said after the round, "and it was reflected in the score".


"Whatever I talk about with other players and other guys stays between the guys", Reed said. "I don't hit the ball anywhere near as far as I did earlier in the year or the summer, but it's spinnier and the ball's in play". Now it's about trying to get everything to peak together like I did for those two weeks to do it again four more times.

"So, maybe going forward, just don't quite have the greens so fast or the pins so hard, but also as short as the golf course was playing, we should have made at least seven, eight birdies a piece".

"Under slow-motion and high def you can see the ball did hit the clubface twice, but in real time I didn't feel that at all. But there was no violation I guess, so I shot what I shot today".

Tiger Woods hit the ball twice but wasn't penalised.

"As you look at anyone who's ever played this game, that is the most hard thing to do in this game".

So it was determined that Woods' shot was legal and he was not penalized.

Next year this situation won't be an issue as the USGA is eliminating the double-hit rule and it will no longer be a penalty. "This was as very interesting situation".

Noticias relacionadas



[an error occurred while processing the directive]